Florida Brain Project Inaugural Symposium

FBP-banner-1The Florida Brain Project is a consortium effort by Florida universities and research institutions to make the State of Florida known within the US as the “State of Brain Research”, through well coordinated brain research collaborations across diverse disciplines.

The inaugural meeting was held in the Florida State capital city of Tallahassee, on July 28-29, 2014, at the DoubleTree (by Hilton Hotel).

To download a Symposium Flyer (subject to updates), please click here.

To view the Symposium Agenda, please page down. To download the Symposium Agenda, please click here.

To view or download a copy of the Symposium Program (subject to updates), please click here.

To watch a news clip discussing the Inaugural Symposium, please click here.

Notable consortium members include:


This Symposium was made possible by a donation from Drs. Martin and Sandra Fackler.


The Florida Brain Project Organizing Committee:

Tetsuo Ashizawa Chair & Executive Director UF, College of Medicine, Department of Neurology,           McKnight Brain Institute
Ron Davis Professor & Chair SCRIPPS Florida
Dalton Dietrich Scientific Director of The Miami Project to Cure Paralysis University of Miami, Professor of Neurological Surgery, Neurology and Cell Biology & Anatomy
David Fitzpatrick Scientific Director & Chief Executive Officer Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience
Clifton Gooch Professor & Chair University of South Florida Health, Morsani College of Medicine, Neuromuscular Medicine & Electromyography
David Morgan Distinguished Professor & Director USF Health, Morsani College of Medicine, Molecular Pharmacology & Physiology
Lucia Notterpek Professor & Chair UF, College of Medicine, Department of Neuroscience
Richard Nowakowski Professor & Chair Florida State University, Department of Biomedical Sciences
Leonard Petrucelli Professor Mayo Clinic – Jacksonville, Department of Neuroscience
Ralph Sacco Professor & Chair University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine, Department of Neurology