Neuroscientists honored at UF Health Celebration of Distinction event

Celebrating Distinction
(L-R) Gyang, Farrer, Kalamangalam and chair of neurology Michael Okun, M.D.

UF Health recently recognized three neuroscientists — Matthew Farrer, Ph.D.; Tirisham V. Gyang, M.D.; and Giridhar Kalamangalam, M.D., D.Phil. — as recipients of endowed professorships. The three were honored at the 2019 Celebrating Distinction ceremony in October:

  • Farrer was installed to the Lauren and Lee Fixel Professorship. He is a professor of neurology and the director of the UF Clinical and Translational Science Institute’s Clinical Genomics Program with a research focus on molecular science and genetics to predict and prevent neurological disorders.
  • Gyang was installed to the William T. and Janice M. Neely Professorship for Research in Multiple Sclerosis. She is an assistant professor of neurology who specializes in multiple sclerosis and related neuroimmunological disorders affecting the brain and spinal cord.
  • Kalamangalam was installed to the B.J. And Eve Wilder Professorship in Epilepsy. He is the division chief of epilepsy in the department of neurology. Kalamangalam’s clinical work focuses on refractory epilepsy management, epilepsy surgery and clinical neurophysiology and his research interests lie in the imaging and neurophysiology of epilepsy and related neuroscience.

Read more about the 2019 Celebrating Distinction ceremony.