Neurocritical Care team earns patient safety award

three researchers' headshots
(Left to right) Marc-Alain Babi, M.D., Katharina Busl, M.D., Mackenzie Thompson, PA-C. Not pictured: Jeannette Hester, M.S.N., R.N., CCRN.

Members of the University of Florida Neurocritical Care team have been awarded the W. Martin Smith Interdisciplinary Patient Safety Award, co-sponsored by the UF College of Medicine Continuing Medical Education and the Florida Self-Insurance Program.

Their project, titled “CODE-Brain – Emergency Neurological Life Support: What to do (and not to do) in the first hour of a neurological emergency,” was led by principal investigators Katharina Busl, M.D., an associate professor of neurology; Marc-Alain Babi, M.D., an assistant professor of neurology; Mackenzie Thompson, PA-C, an advanced practice provider; and Jeannette Hester, M.S.N., R.N., CCRN, a nursing and patient services clinical leader.

Learn more about the W. Martin Smith Interdisciplinary Patient Safety Awards.