MBI members earn UF Innovate awards

Two MBI members recently earned Innovations of the Year awards at UF Innovate Tech Licensing’s annual Standing InnOvation event recognizing the university’s top innovations.

Steven Munger, Ph.D., was awarded for “Adaptive Olfactory Measure of Threshold (ArOMa-T)” a self-administered test to identify dysfunction in the sense of smell. Munger is director of UF’s Center for Smell and Taste.

Elias Sayour, M.D., Ph.D., was recognized for “Intratumoral Type I Interferons Sensitize Response to Checkpoint Inhibitors” which uses the immune system to fight cancer. Sayour is an assistant professor of neurosurgery and principal investigator of the RNA Engineering Laboratory within UF’s Preston A. Wells, Jr. Center for Brain Tumor Therapy.

Learn more about the Standing InnOvation event.