Executive Committee

MBI Deputy Director

Steven T. DeKosky M.D.

Associate director of the 1Florida Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center; Aerts-Cosper professor of Alzheimer’s Research



Jada Lewis, Ph.D.

Co-director of MBI’s Education and Outreach Committee; professor of neuroscience

Lewis 2

Jennifer Bizon, Ph.D.

Professor and chair of UF’s Department of Neuroscience; Co-Director of the Cognitive Aging And Memory Center (CAM); Co-director of MBI’s Education and Outreach Committee

Dr. Bizon

David Borchelt, Ph.D.

Director of the SantaFe Health Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center; professor of neuroscience

Dr. Borchelt

Ronald Cohen, Ph.D.

Co-Director of the Center for Cognitive Aging and Memory Center (CAM); professor of clinical and health psychology, neurology and psychiatry

Ronald Cohen

Catherine Flores, Ph.D.

Assistant professor in UF College of Medicine’s Lillian S. Wells Department of Neurosurgery; a principal investigator in UF’s Brain Tumor Immunotherapy Program

Catherine Flores works in the lab at the McKnight Brain

Michael S. Jaffee, M.D.

Director of the UF Brain Injury, Rehabilitation, and Neuroresilience (BRAIN) Center; vice chair and associate professor of neurology

Dr. Michael Jaffee

Carol Mathews, M.D.

Director of the Center for OCD, Anxiety and Related Disorders; Brooke professor of psychiatry; Co-Director of the UF Tourette Center of Excellence; Interim director of the Center for Autism and Neurodevelopment

Dr. Carol Mathews

Lance McMahon Jr., Ph.D.

Chair and professor of pharmacodynamics

Dr. Lance McMahon

Kevin St.P. McNaught, Ph.D.

Chief science officer for neuroscience research at UF Health

McNaught horiz

Matthew J. LaVoie, Ph.D.

Fixel Family Professor Of Neurology; co-director Center of Translational Research In Neurodegenerative Disease; associate chair for research in neurology

Matthew LaVoie,

Gordon Mitchell, Ph.D.

Director of the UF Center for Breathing Research and Therapeutics (BREATHE); professor of neuroscience and physical therapy

Gordon Mitchell

Sara Jo Nixon, Ph.D.

Professor of psychiatry and psychology; director of the Center for Addiction Research & Education (CARE); director of the Biobehavioral Core of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute


Michael Okun, M.D.

Chair of Neurology; professor and executive director of the Norman Fixel Institute for Neurological Diseases

Michael Okun

Kevin Otto, Ph.D.

Professor & senior associate chair of biomedical engineering

Dr. Kevin Otto

Laura Ranum, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for NeuroGenetics; professor of molecular genetics and microbiology

Doctor Laura Ranum

Elias Sayour, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant professor of neurosurgery and pediatrics; a principal investigator of the ribonucleic acid engineering laboratory at the Preston A. Wells, Jr. Center for Brain Tumor Therapy

doctor Sayour

Barry Setlow, Ph.D.

Professor of psychiatry and neuroscience

Barry Setlow

Malú G. Tansey, Ph.D.

Fixel Family Professor Of Neurology; co-director of the Center for Translational Research in Neurodegenerative Disease and the Parkinson’s Foundation Research Center

Malu Tansey

David Vaillancourt, Ph.D.

Professor of applied physiology and kinesiology

Dr. David Vaillancourt